

DEPARTMENT OF LOCAL AFFAIRS OFFICE OF SMART GROWTH

2007 Determination of County and Municipal Master Plan Adoption Requirements

Under the Colorado Revised Statutes, counties and municipalities having a certain population and/or growth rate are required to prepare and adopt a master plan. The Department of Local Affairs is required to annually determine, based on the population statistics maintained by the department's Demography Section, which counties and municipalities are subject to these statutory planning requirements. The department is also responsible for notifying those local governments meeting the population/growth rate thresholds of the master plan adoption requirements. C.R.S. 30-28-106(4)(c) and 31-23-206(4)(b)

County Population and Growth Thresholds

C.R.S. 30-28-106(4)(a) "Each county that has not already adopted a master plan and that meets one of the following descriptions shall adopt a master plan within two years after the effective date of this subsection:

- (I) Each county or city and county that has a population equal to or greater than ten thousand **and** the population of which has demonstrated an increase of either:
 - (A) Ten percent or more during the calendar years 1994 to 1999; or
 - (B) Ten percent or more during any five-year period ending in 2000 or any subsequent year;
- (II) Each county or city and county that has a population of one hundred thousand or more.
- (b) To the extent the county does not meet a description specified in subparagraph (I) or (II) of paragraph (a) of this subsection (4), the counties of Clear Creek, Gilpin, Morgan, and Pitkin shall adopt a master plan within two years after the effective date of this subsection (4)."

The following counties are currently subject to the statutory master plan adoption requirement:

Adams El Paso Elbert Arapahoe Archuleta Fremont Boulder Garfield Broomfield Gilpin Chaffee Grand Clear Creek Gunnison Delta Jefferson Denver La Plata Larimer **Douglas** Eagle Logan

Mesa Montrose Morgan Park Pitkin Pueblo Routt Summit Teller Weld

Municipality Population and Growth Thresholds

31-23-206(4)(a) "Each municipality that has a population of two thousand persons or more and that is wholly or partially located in a county that is subject to the requirements of section 30-28-106 (4), C.R.S. shall adopt a master plan within two years after the effective date of this subsection (4)."

The following municipalities are subject to the statutory master plan adoption requirement:

Adams: Bennett, Brighton, Commerce City, Federal Heights, Northglenn, Thornton and

Westminster

Arapahoe: Aurora, Centennial, Cherry Hills Village, Englewood, Glendale, Greenwood

Village, Littleton and Sheridan

Archuleta: No municipalities with population equal to or more than 2,000

Boulder: Boulder, Lafayette, Longmont, Louisville and Superior

City and County of Broomfield: For purposes of this memo, Broomfield has been counted as a

county

Chaffee: Buena Vista and Salida

Clear Creek: No municipalities with population equal to or more than 2,000

Delta: Cedaredge, Delta and Orchard City

City and County of Denver: For purposes of this memo, Denver has been counted as a county

Douglas: Castle Rock, Lone Tree and Parker **Eagle:** Avon, Basalt, Eagle, Gypsum and Vail

El Paso: Colorado Springs, Fountain, Manitou Springs, Monument and Palmer Lake

Elbert: No municipalities with population equal to or more than 2,000

Fremont: Canon City and Florence

Garfield: Carbondale, Glenwood Springs, New Castle, Rifle and Silt **Gilpin:** No municipalities with population equal to or more than 2,000 **Grand:** No municipalities with population equal to or more than 2,000

Gunnison: Gunnison

Jefferson: Arvada, Edgewater, Golden, Lakewood and Wheat Ridge

La Plata: Durango

Larimer: Berthoud, Estes Park, Fort Collins, Loveland and Wellington

Logan: Sterling

Mesa: Fruita, Grand Junction and Palisade

Montrose: Montrose

Morgan: Brush and Fort Morgan

Park: No municipalities with population equal to or more than 2,000

Pitkin: Aspen and Snowmass Village

Pueblo: Pueblo

Routt: Steamboat Springs

Summit: Breckenridge, Frisco and Silverthorne

Teller: Woodland Park

Weld: Dacono, Eaton, Erie, Evans, Firestone, Fort Lupton, Frederick, Greeley, Johnstown,

Lochbuie, Mead, Milliken, Platteville, Severance, and Windsor

2007 DEPARTMENTAL REVIEW

The 2007 review of county and municipal population estimates and growth rates consisted of the following steps:

Part 1. Identify any municipalities that are wholly or partially within a county that is subject to the statutory master plan requirements that had a population under two thousand persons at the time of the 2006 review, but that now have populations in excess of two thousand persons (based on newly released demography section estimates).

Results: No municipalities have reached the population threshold in the 2007 review.

Part 2. Identify those counties that have achieved the thresholds for population and growth rate under C.R.S. 31-23-206(4)(a) (based on newly released demography section estimates).

Results: No counties reached the population/growth rate thresholds in the 2007 review.

Part 3. Identify any municipalities wholly or partially within the boundaries of the newly identified counties that have populations in excess of two thousand persons (based on newly released demography section estimates).

Results: Not applicable (see Results from Part 2 above).